We are a Baptist church (Evangelisch-Freikirchliche) baptisten The term “Evangelisch-Freikirchliche” (evangelical free church) exists only in Germany. We are known worldwide as “Baptists“. The fact that we are “evangelical” means that our roots lie in the Reformation, which began in Wittenberg in 1517 when Martin Luther published his 95 theses (Evangelical Lutheran Church). In 1523, the Protestant Reformed Church (Fulda-Reformierte Kirche) was founded in Geneva by Huldrich Zwingli in Zurich and Jean Calvin in Geneva. Then, as the third wing of the Reformation (also called the left or radical wing), the Baptist movement began with Balthasar Hubmaier as the leading theologian. At the beginning of 1525, the first Baptist church was founded in Zurich, which carried out baptism by full submersion, just as the first Christians did; for people who had chosen faith for themselves and without coercion. Later those critical of the movement gave us the name “Baptists”, derived from the term “baptism”. Resistance and persecution not only scattered the Baptists, but also spread them around the world. After 1609 the first Baptist congregations formed in England.

The “sola scriptura”, or “only the Holy Scripture”, is common to the various branches of the Reformed Church. The Bible alone is the foundation and standard for faith and life. This includes the belief in Jesus Christ as “the only Redeemer” and the justification of the sinner through faith and grace.

And what does “freikirchlich” mean? The term “Freikirche” was first encountered in 1843 in the “Free Church of Scotland”, a separation from the Scottish state church. Against the background of the state church, (Staatskirche, Volkskirche and Landeskirche), the free church movement split away. The Baptists understanding of “free-church”, on the basis of the “sola scriptura”, can also be understood as “voluntarily” instead of “free”.

Separation of State and Church: The separation of state and church means being consciously independent and free from any state influence on ecclesiastical affairs, and free from privileges on the part of the state. This is particularly true in the area of training and finance. In Germany most churches are financed by church taxes, which are administered by the government. Instead of church taxes, the Baptist church deals with all money matters through voluntary donations. Advocating freedom of conscience and religion as an elementary human right is part of this ethos.

Federation of Evangelical-Free Church Communities: As Baptist churches, we are united in a covenant. While the autonomy of the individual community is preserved, major tasks such as education, training, and social work are managed together. This includes relations within the Baptist World Federation (BWA) as well as to other churches (Evangelical Alliance, Ecumenism). In Germany the first Baptist community was founded in 1834 in Hamburg. Our branch in Daimlerstraße was founded in 1902. In the “Federation of Protestant Churches in Germany (BEFG)”, approximately 900 branches are affiliated with approximately 87,000 members. The Baptist World Federation currently represents about 42 million members in more than 200 countries with more than 100 million church attendants. Federation of Evangelical-Free Church Communities Germany (KdöR)

Wir sind eine Evangelisch-Freikirchliche Gemeinde (Baptisten) baptisten Die Bezeichnung „evangelisch-freikirchlich“ gibt es nur in Deutschland. Weltweit sind wir als „Baptisten“ bekannt. Daß wir „evangelisch“ sind, besagt, daß unsere Wurzeln in der Reformation liegen, die 1517 in Wittenberg ihren Anfang nahm, als Martin Luther seine 95 Thesen veröffentlichte (Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche). Schnelle Ausbreitung sorgte dafür, daß 1523 durch Huldrich Zwingli in Zürich und Jean Calvin in Genf die Reformation auch in der Schweiz Fuß gefaßt hat (Evangelisch-Reformierte Kirche). Hier begann dann – als dritter Flügel der Reformation (auch linker oder radikaler Flügel genannt) – die Täuferbewegung mit Balthasar Hubmaier als führendem Theologen. Anfang 1525 gründete sich in Zürich die erste Täufergemeinde, die die Glaubenstaufe durch Untertauchen vollzog – so wie das auch die ersten Christen taten; und zwar an Menschen, die sich selbst und freiwillig für den Glauben entschieden hatten. Von „taufen, untertauchen“ leitet sich der später von den Gegnern gegebene Name „Baptisten“ ab. Widerstand und Verfolgungen sorgten nicht nur für Zerstreuung der Taufgesinnten, sondern dadurch auch für ihre Ausbreitung. Nach 1609 formierten sich zunächst in England Baptisten-Gemeinden.

Den reformatorischen Kirchen gemeinsam ist das „sola scriptura“, „allein die (Heilige) Schrift“. Die Bibel allein ist Grundlage und Maßstab für Glauben und Leben. Dazu gehört der Glaube an Jesus Christus „als alleingültigen Erlöser“ und die Rechtfertigung des Sünders aus Glaube und Gnade.

Und was heißt „freikirchlich“? Der Begriff „Freikirche“ begegnet zuerst 1843 in der „Free Church of Scotland“, einer Abspaltung von der Schottischen Staatskirche. Auf dem Hintergrund von Staatskirche, Volkskirche und Landeskirche hebt sich die freikirchliche Gemeindebewegung ab. Das Gemeindeverständnis, das die Täufer auf der Grundlage des „sola scriptura“ gewonnen haben, kann man statt „freikirchlich“ auch als „freiwillig“ verstehen.

Trennung von Staat und Kirche: Die Trennung von Staat und Kirche bedeutet, bewußt unabhängig und frei zu sein von jeglicher staatlicher Einflußnahme auf die kirchlichen Angelegenheiten und von Privilegien seitens des Staates. Das betrifft besonders den Bereich Ausbildung und Finanzen. Statt Kirchensteuern ist in allen Geldangelegenheiten Freiwilligkeit angesagt. Auch das Eintreten für Glaubens- und Gewissenfreiheit als elementarem Menschenrecht ist hier zu nennen.

Bund Evangelisch- Freikirchlicher Gemeinden: Als evangelisch-freikichliche Gemeinden sind wir in einem Bund zusammengeschlossen. Während die Autonomie der einzelnen Gemeinde gewahrt bleibt, werden größere Aufgaben wie Ausbildung, Schulung, Diakonie gemeinsam bewältigt. Dazu gehören auch die Beziehungen innerhalb des Baptistischen Weltbundes (BWA) sowie zu anderen Kirchen (Evangelische Allianz, Ökumene). In Deutschland wurde die erste Baptistengemeinde 1834 in Hamburg gegründet. Unsere Gemeinde in der Daimlerstraße wurde 1902 gegründet. Im „Bund Evangelisch-Freikirchlicher Gemeinden in Deutschland (BEFG)“ sind ca. 900 Gemeinden und Zweiggemeinden mit ca. 87000 Mitgliedern zusammengeschlossen. Der Baptistische Weltbund vertritt gegenwärtig ca. 42 Millionen Mitglieder in über 200 Ländern mit mehr als 100 Millionen Gottesdienstbesuchern. Bund Evangelisch-Freikirchlicher Gemeinden Deutschland (KdöR)